New Licensing Education Requirement for Independent Motor Vehicle Dealers

Senate Bill 604, which was passed by the 86th Texas Legislature, requires Independent Motor Vehicle Dealers who have been licensed less than 10 years, and new applicants for those licenses, to complete a web-based education training course prior to submitting a new or renewal GDN application. The dealers required to take this course are licensed to buy, sell, or exchange:

  •  used cars, trucks, motor homes, neighborhood vehicles, recreational off-road vehicles (ROV), all-terrain vehicles (ATV), or utility vehicles (UTV).

 Beginning June 20, 2020, the education training course must be completed by at least one owner or operating manager, and a copy of the Certificate of Completion will need to be uploaded as part of all new and renewal GDN Motor Vehicle license applications.

The Texas Independent Automobile Dealers Association (TIADA) is currently offering two (2) approved courses:

  • Renewal License Education Course (3 hours) for current license holders
  • Pre-Licensing Education Course (6 hours) for new applicants

Dealers licensed for more than 10 years as of September 1, 2019, are excluded from this requirement. All license holders who have not held their current Independent Motor Vehicle GDN for the required 10 year period will be asked to provide proof of course completion as part of their renewal

application. License holders with more than 10 years of licensing history may upload a statement in lieu of completing the renewal course.

Both licensing courses can be found on TexasDealerEducation.com. More information about the courses, including answers to frequently asked questions, can be found on the TxDMV website here. Please continue monitoring your email for further updates.

Thank you!

 

Source: Salvage Dealers
New Licensing Education Requirement for Independent Motor Vehicle Dealers

(Visited 34 time, 1 visit today)
This entry was posted in Salvage Dealers. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.