Statutory Waiver of Delinquent Transfer Penalty due to COVID-19

Please review and distribute as appropriate.

On March 16, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott granted the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ (TxDMV) request for a waiver of the time in which to apply for title and the associated delinquent transfer penalty as a result of the Governor’s Disaster Proclamation.  The TxDMV will provide notice when normal titling services have resumed.  The waiver is in effect until 60 days after the notice is provided and applies to all counties.

Effective immediately, there is no requirement for a title application to be submitted within a specified time.  As a result, the delinquent transfer penalty does not apply to any title application submitted between March 16, 2020, and 60 days after the TxDMV provides notice normal titling services have resumed.  Title applications submitted delinquently after 60 days from the TxDMV notice will not be assessed a penalty for any period associated with the waiver.

The purpose of the waiver is to prevent customers from having to physically visit a county tax assessor-collector office, which is why the requirement to apply for title in a specified amount of time has been waived.

Thank you,

Jeremiah Kuntz, Director
Vehicle Titles and Registration Division
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

If you have any questions concerning this communication, please contact your local TxDMV Regional Service Center.

 

Source: Dealers and Manufacturers
Statutory Waiver of Delinquent Transfer Penalty due to COVID-19

(Visited 98 time, 1 visit today)
This entry was posted in Dealers and Manufacturers. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.